Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Rathbun Land and Water Alliance recognized by Governor

The Rathbun Land and Water Alliance received two awards in environmental excellence at the Governor's Environmental Excellence Award ceremony held Tuesday, July 15 at the Wallace Building in Des Moines - the Water Quality Special Project Award and the Environmental Education Special Project Award. For more information about these awards, click on the What's New tab.
Pictured (L-R) Iowa Governor, Terry Branstad, Rathbun Land and Water Alliance representatives, Vice-President, Kim Francisco and President, John Glenn, and Iowa Department of Natural Resources Director, Chuck Gipp.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Rathbun Land and Water Alliance Board and Partners

The Rathbun Land and Water Alliance Board held their quarterly meeting at the Pin Oak Lodge Education Center near Chariton on Friday, March 28. Organizations and agencies that support the Alliance's Protect Rathbun Lake Project activities provided reports and included the Army Corps of Engineers, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Iowa State University Extension, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship-Division of Soil Conservation and Iowa Department of Natural Resources. Special water quality monitoring reports were presented by Iowa DNR staff - Geologist, Michelle Balmer, who coordinates the water quality monitoring at designated points in Rathbun Lake and its tributaries and Jason Palmer, technical development and biological impairments, who monitors stream bank erosion in the Rathbun Lake Watershed.  Look for their reports on the Technical Reports and Maps tab. 
Rathbun Lake and Watershed
Rathbun Lake is the primary source of water for the Rathbun Regional Water Association. Rathbun Regional Water Association is the largest rural water system in system in Iowa providing drinking water daily to 80,000 people in southern Iowa and northern Missouri.

Rathbun Lake also provides recreational opportunities for one million visitors annually, flood damage reduction for downstream land, fish and wildlife habitat in the lake and on adjacent public land, and is home to Honey Creek Resort State Park. In addition, the 11,000 acre lake provides downstream water quality improvement, storage for supplementing navigational flows, and water for the Iowa Department of Natural Resources' Rathbun Fish Hatchery.

Rathbun Lake is located on the Chariton River in south central Iowa. The Rathbun Lake watershed includes more than 354,000 acres. The US Army Corps of Engineers developed the lake in the late 1960s. The Corps of Engineers is responsible for managing Rathbun Lake, associated lake facilities, and adjacent public land. 

Project Partners
Rathbun Land and Water Alliance members and partners include the following individuals, agencies and organizations:  Landowners in the Rathbun Lake Watershed; CoBankIowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship’s Division of Soil ConservationIowa Department of Natural ResourcesIowa State UniversityIowa Watershed Improvement Review BoardSouthern Iowa Development and Conservation AuthorityUS Army Corps of EngineersUS Environmental Protection AgencyUSDA Farm Service AgencyUSDA Natural Resources Conservation Service; Appanoose, Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne Soil and Water Conservation Districts; Appanoose, Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne Counties; Iowa Farm Bureau at the state and county levels; and Rathbun Regional Water Association.